Davis - Small Beach Front Cottage With Screened Porch
 
 
 
 
Property Details
Property Type: Home
Bed/Bath: 3/2.00
Sleeps: 8
Pets: No
Smoking: No
Rental Rates:

$133 - $216 per night

$795 - $1,695 per week

 
 
 
   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Description
Visiting Davis has been an Edisto Beach tradition for decades. Its unique size is hard to come by today with beach front vacation homes. Perfect for a smaller group or family, the amazing views of the St. Helena Sound are worth the trip alone. If relaxation is on the top of your vacation agenda, the second story screened porch is fit for basking in the sweet breeze during a rain storm or afternoon hiatus from the sun. The cottage has one bedroom on the main level, great for those that find numerous steps challenging. The cozy living makes for a wonderful meeting area to laugh and remember stories of vacations past. Davis is available for you to pause and enjoy all Edisto has to offer. No Pets. No Smoking.

Bedding Configuration: 4 Twin, 2 Sleeper Sofa, 1 Full

Additional Features:
* Business: Nearby ATM, Nearby Bank, Nearby Internet Cafe, Nearby Marina, Nearby Post Office, Nearby Restaurants
* Convenience: Golf Course, Nearby Golf Cart Rentals, Nearby Grocery, Nearby Medical Services
* Culture: Botany Bay Plantation, Edisto Interpretive Center, Edisto Island Historical Museum, Edisto Island Serpentarium
* Entertainment: Cable TV
* Geographic: Beach Front, Close to Town, Ocean View, On the St. Helena Sound
* Kitchen: Coffee Maker, Cookware, Dishwasher, Full Kitchen, Microwave, Refrigerator, Toaster
* Living: Ceiling Fans, Central Heat & Air, Land Line Telephone, Washer & Dryer, Wireless Internet Access, 2 Night Minimum In Off Season, No Smoking
* Outdoor: BBQ Grill, Hot & Cold Outside Shower, Screened Porch
 
 
 
 
 
 
Map

This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
 
 
 
 
 
 
Availability

Owner/Manager last updated on 04/12/2014

 available     unavailable View next 12 months »»
  April   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30      
  May   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
  June   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30          
  July   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
  August   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  September   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
  October   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
  November   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30            
  December   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      
  January   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
  February   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
  March   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
 available     unavailable View next 12 months »»

 
 
 
 
 
 
Rates
Start End Nightly Weekly Monthly Min. Stay
Deposits: For details please check rates and availability.
Cancellation Policy: For details please check rates and availability.
Lodging Tax: For details please check rates and availability.
Other Fees: For details please check rates and availability.
Other Policies: For details please check rates and availability.
 
 
 
 
 
 
Amenities
Location Type: Beach Front, Ocean View
Amenities
  • ·Full Kitchen
Appliances
  • ·Coffee Maker
  • ·Dishwasher
  • ·Microwave
  • ·Phone
  • ·Refrigerator
  • ·Toaster
  • ·Satellite TV or Cable TV
Activites
  • ·Golf
 
 
 
 
 
 
Reviews
 Property Reviews 
Family Getaway
A guest from North Charleston, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in March, 2014
Quick trip and the kids loved it.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Liz,
Thank you so much for your review. We value your feedback and really appreciate that you chose to spend your quick weekend trip at Davis on Edisto Beach. We'd love to have you back anytime for another memorable family getaway.
Regards,
Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

davis house
A guest from Lafayette, GA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in December, 2013
great

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Mike,
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your business throught the years. We are so pleased that you had another great getaway to Edisto. We look forward to seeing you and your family again!
Regards,
Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great time!
A guest from Greenwood, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in November, 2013
The house was very nice and fit our family well. Would stay again.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Brad,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you sharing your experience with us. We'd love to invite you back again for another wonderful getaway to Edisto Beach.
Regards,
Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Not for the Timid
A guest from Little Mountain, SC does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 7 days in November, 2013
High kitchen cabinets difficult to access (provide a step-stool?). Steep, narrow, dark interior stairs dangerous. Location great! Screen porch a plus. Never had direct contact with any of the Atwood people (their website worked well for reservation though), so unable to comment on their professionality .

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Ned,
Thank you for your feedback. We value your review. We appreciate your candor. Our goal is for every guest to have a wonderful, carefree vacation. Your suggestions have been shared with our management staff to try to make the next guest's stay a better one. We hope that you will consider using Atwood for your next vacation on Edisto.
Regards,
Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

September Seclusion
A guest from Little Mountain, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in September, 2013
A quaint, charming home in a good location on the sound. Untold beauty at the backdoor with short walk to beach and seashells galore. The upstairs porch was amazing especially for sunsets. Because of the stairs, I probably wouldn't recommend for certain age groups; also the only inside tub/shower was upstairs, small and difficult to maneuver. The outside shower had hot & cold water and was great.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Brenda,
Thank you for your review. We value your feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit at Davis. While this home is older, it does have some charm. It is so nice to learn that you had a quality Edisto experience. We would love to invite you back anytime.
Regards,
Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Bugs on the Beach
A guest from Anderson, SC does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in September, 2013
The location was great. A reasonably priced house right on the beach. However, the house had a roach infestation (5-10 in the kitchen daily). Management was very prompted in sending someone out to deal with the issue. However, there were still daily sights and squashings. From a non-bug perspective it was a very cozy stay. The screened in porch was quite pleasant and it had enough space for a comfortable vacation on a budget. I would recommend checking the weather, specifically wind direction, before the trip. Apparently when the wind blows out from the dunes it brings along man eating flies along the beach, thus no relaxing on the beach without constant movement and swatting.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Barry,
Thank you for your review. We take all of the feedback to heart in order to improve everyone's experience. We apologize that you had a less than five star stay. All of our homes including Davis have professional quarterly pest control services. We can also make calls as needed. Your case has been documented. We have pest control visiting weekly to ensure that the problem is taken care of. We understand that this could but a damper on your getaway. We do appreciate you offering your suggestions. Our goal is for everyone to have a carefree vacation. We hope that you will consider visiting an Atwood Vacations' home for your next visit to Edisto.
Regards,
Atwood Vacations TEam
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Quiet, relaxing and affordable
A guest from Kirkwood, MO recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in September, 2013
What is said in the comments is true. It's not the cleanest property on the strip and bugs are certainly present, especially in the kitchen. But, because of the previous reviews and comments we knew this going into the stay and were actually pleased with the condition which was better than we expected. For two newly weds looking to spend a quiet honeymoon on the beach at an affordable price, this house and Edisto Island were perfect. We woke up every morning to dolphins playing in the water outside the house! Overall, it was a pleasant stay and we'd do it again.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Nicole,
Thank you for your review. We value your feedback. Congratulations on your marriage! We hope that you made many memories during your honeymoon. We'd love to invite you back for more excellent visits.
Regards,
Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Davis house
A guest from West Columbia, SC does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in September, 2013
The kitchen was infested with **** roaches, especially in the stove and dishwasher. We called and an exterminator came out and sprayed, but it didn't help during our stay. The mattress pad on one bed appeared to be soiled with urine, which they brought a new one over. The house was not what I would consider clean. I feel as though the cleaning service should have seen the soiled pad and also all the **** roaches crawling on the counter. We had an 11 month old, so we were very disappointed with the condition of the house. The outside door in the downstairs bedroom needs replaced. I could see daylight through the crack in it. I think this house is way over priced for the condition of it. The full bath is so small you can hardly turn around!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Rita,
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you sharing your review. We are so disappointed to hear about your experience. All of our rentals are sprayed quarterly and as needed. We can understand that this interfered with your enjoyment. We work hard to ensure that you arrive to a great rental. We are always just a phone call away. Your review has been shared with our housekeeping staff for better understanding of our policies. Again, we thank you for staying with us.
Regards,
Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Beach is great no matter where you stay.
David S. from Walterboro, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2013
We come back every year for our wedding anniversary. Our only mistake was that we did not get a bigger house.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
David,
Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you and your family year after year. We appreciate that Edisto holds a special place in your hearts. We hope to see you again next year for a great 4th on Edisto.
Regards,
Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Love Edisto More and More each Year
Patricia K. from Chicago, IL recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in May, 2013
Perfect. Same house, Davis, for a number of years. Love the Sound. New floor, some new lighting and other improvements were most welcome. Keep up the good work on this charming little house. We needed immediate attention to our air conditioning and Atwood sent folks before we even finished unpacking.Couldn't have been a better time.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Patricia,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your business throughout the years. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the updates this year. We look forward to seeing you next spring for a beautiful stay on Edisto.
Regards,
Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Davis House Week of 3/30/13
Shayne K. from Canton, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in March, 2013
We enjoyed our weeks stay at the Davis House. The home is small and old, but fit our needs. If I'm being critical, the home could use some updating and general maintenance, but overall, there is nothing wrong with the home. The location is perfect. I prefer the sound side of the island because the beach is much more pleasant than the ocean side of the island. This is the second year in a row that we have used Atwood Vacations for a home rental on Edisto Beach and would recommend them to anyone. Check-in/check-out is a breeze and the homes have been just as depicted on the website.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Shayne,Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. We would love to be your host again next year!Regards,Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Davis review
Douglas J. from Colorado Springs, CO recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in March, 2013
We had an absolute blast on the island. I still dont understand why guest bring linens and towels? East coast thing? I also loved the old beach house feel of the Davis property. Some of the cookware had cooked on food so we had to clean things before we got started. There was a lot of mold in the coffee maker. I think the "Palmetto" bugs just come with the region but we kept the house clean so we didnt see them to much. Overall we had a great time and thank you for being so professional.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Douglas,Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay on Edisto. We are exploring options to add linens to every rental home. The largest problen with furnishing linens is adding the infrastructure to launder linens in mass quanity. We will replace the coffee maker. We apologize for that. Our goal is for you to have an amazing vacation. We would love to see you again.Regards,Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Lovely location
A guest from Evans, GA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in March, 2013
A cute property, but very tiny. Hard to turn around in the bathroom. Some of the lights didn't work in the kitchen. We tried changing the bulbs, so it must be the fixtures. There is only one queen bed, so 2 of 3 adults slept on a twin mattress. I knew this going into the property and had misgivings about it which were backed up by reality. There were only 3 of us so it was perfect for the number booked. The upper porch furniture completely covered in a thick layer of pollen and unable to use during our stay due to allergies. You are right on the beach, however, on the lovely St Helena Sound. Saw dolphins several evenings. The sunsets were absolutely gorgeous and soothing to the soul to see. Perfect driving distance from Charleston where we went one day to go shopping and on a tour. All in all, it was a trade off for amenities for a good price on the beach. I think a small group like ours could be happy there.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Vanessa,Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you staying with us at Davis on Edisto Beach. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We will look into the issues with the light fixtures. Next time I hope the pollen count will be lower so that the outdoors are more comfortable for us allergy sufferers! We would love to have you back!Regards,Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Davis
A guest from Columbia, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in December, 2012
We liked the house for the money. The bathroom was a bit too small for the amount of bedrooms. It was hard to stand and turn around in there.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Davis at Edisto -- good value in a perfect location
A guest from Comer, GA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in October, 2012
This is an older (which I prefer), very well kept up house in a perfect location directly on the sound. I've stayed here several times over the years and would do so again. Had a minor issue with the house this time which Atwood handled totally to my satisfaction.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Dorie,Thank you for your review of "Davis." We appreciate that you have chosen to stay with Atwood through the years. Davis is a home for those looking to catch a bit of R&R! We would love to have you stay with us again.Regards,Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

sand on the stairs when we got there, rat poop in kitchen/drawers
lisa g. from inman, SC does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in August, 2012
I LOVE edisto and understand some "glitches" with properties..we've rented there for 7-8 years...i lov e an old beach house, much more so than anything really fancy, but the rat poop in the dishrag drawer was a bit much..just needs a little attention
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great time
A guest from Walterboro, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2012
Fabulous week

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Janice,Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your visit to "Davis" on Edisto Beach. This home is has a location that is heavenly. We would love to have you back for another great week on Edisto.Regards,Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Beautiful Sunsets
Janet E. from Guilford, IN recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in May, 2012
Fun week at the beach.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

on beach
A guest from Lafayette, GA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in December, 2011
great
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

June 2011 Edisto Beach Vacation
A guest from Tega Cay, SC does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2011
We loved Edisto and being able to walk out to the beach was great. Very quiet area. House was the right size for a family of four. However the full bathroom was very small plus the screened deck had a dirty floor and the deck furniture had seen better days.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great vacation home
Mary H. from edgemoore, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in April, 2011
Great vacation home, old with alot of history to read about inside! House is in very good condition and was the in the best location!! We will return again next year!!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Dear Mary,Thank you for providing us with the great feedback about your visit to Davis. We value your time in providing us this review. We welcome you back to Edisto Beach anytime!Regards,Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Simply perfect
A guest from Cincinnati, OH recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in March, 2011
It is a great space for a family get away. Fabulous view and beach out your back door. Comfortable
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Tables on screened porch had spillages.Tall glass table in LR was gritty on top, like hadn't been wiped off in a while. Both bat
A guest from Spartanburg, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in November, 2010
I have a suggestion for all of your properties. Require people to leave a roll of TP in each bathroom and a roll of PT in the kitchen. Those are the first things usually needed so might make arrival easier. They would be easy to replace before you leave.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Dear Launa,Thank you for your review of Davis. We appreciate you staying with Atwood again! Your feedback is vital to our improvement. Your comments have been forwarded to the housekeeping department for their review. We are currently working on a pakage for guests that allows for an upgraded linen package with toilet paper, etc. Keep in touch! Thanks again for your support. We invite you back anytime!Regards,Atwood Vacations
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great location - Not a great house
A guest from Walterboro, SC does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2010
We love Edisto and visit every year. This was the first time we decided to stay by ourselves (just me, my husband and two kids) so we decided to spend a little less, but still stay on the sound where the waves are much calmer. When we arrived, it was evident that the property had not been recently cleaned - there were dead bugs all around. I did call to notify Atwood, and they were very apologetic. The house itself was just very small, the living room furniture was outdoor type furniture and not comfortable at all. The one bathroom that had a shower was so small that I couldn't bathe my kids in the tub. They had to take an outside shower each day on the deck. My husband and I also had a very hard time getting in and out of the shower due to the small space and hard to manage glass doors. The sink/vanity was the smallest I've ever seen. The washer and dryer was running constantly because I was only able to load maybe 5 items in at a time....tiny!On a good note, the location was perfect and the beach was fantastic! The kitchen, although small, was clean. The bed was comfy and the porch was nice. Overall, I would not recommend this house to anyone to stay in for a week. I think the owners would have repeat visitors if they invested in some decent furniture in the living area and did some minor repairs/maintenance in the one functional bathroom/shower. I will always go back to Edisto...just not to this house!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Thank you for your feedback. We hope you had a great vacation despite the problems in the Davis house. We hope to make up your experience next time in a different unit.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Leavenworth, WA does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in March, 2010
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great View
Lynda B. from South Charleston, WV does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2009
At this price point I would expect a clean well maintaned property. It was not!!! Our first night the toilet overflowed. What a mess! No bucket or mop to clean up with. The screen doers were falling apart and one door would not open, a clear safety hazard. The tread on the narrow stairs was loose and another hazard. There were many neglected items: the kitchen cabinets were dirty, one had it bottom missing, the floors were filty and also,the area rug stained and dirty. There wasn't a hose to clean the porch and deck. The kitchen counter top had a large crack next to the range top. The frig leaked water inside which had to be cleaned each day. Perhaps, the greatest joke of this rental was the fact that when you opened the closet door in the master bedroom there was NO closet at all. Lastly, there was a broken metal shelf in the half bath that stuck out from the wall and was another safty problem. The fact that this rental was small, and old was not the problem here. The problem is the misrepresentation both online and by the realty company that this was worth what we paid. I left a letter with the company and seriously thought of contacting the local chamber of commerence about they way we were ripped off.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great location on the sound - was glad only immediate family was there. It was awkward to go through bed rooms to get to porch.
A guest from Westfield, IN recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2009
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

 
 
 
 
 
 
Check Rates and Book Online
 (how?)
Select your travel dates and number of guests, then click Check Rates & Book it. We will confirm availability and provide a final rate quote. You will have the option to book this property online.
Arrival Departure Adults (18+) Child (<18)

 
 
 
 
 
 
Email Inquiry
Please complete all the required fields before submitting your inquiry. The property lister, property manager or owner will contact you directly after receiving your inquiry.

Your email address is requested twice to avoid typing errors.

Information in Red is required.

First Name:
Last Name:
Email:
Email (verify):
Home Phone:
Work Phone:
Mobile Phone:
Desired Arrival Date:
Desired Departure Date:
Number of Adults (18+):
Number Children (<18):
Additional Message:
(limit of 250 characters)
Verification Letters:
Please enter the verification letters from the image above.
Please email me a copy of this inquiry for reference.
Please save my inquiry information until I leave this site so I will not have to enter it again.
Please include me on periodic email newsletters & special offers. Always short and sweet, always deals.

Privacy Statement

By completing and submitting the information on this form you are agreeing to share this information with the property lister, property manager and owner and to the storage of this information for use by the property lister, property manager and owner.

See our privacy policy for more information.