Davis - Small Beach Front Cottage With Screened Porch
 
 
 
 
Property Details
Property Type: Home
Bed/Bath: 3/2.00
Sleeps: 8
Pets: No
Smoking: No
Rental Rates:

$133 - $166 per night

$795 - $995 per week

 
 
 
   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Description
Visiting Davis has been an Edisto Beach tradition for decades. Its unique size is hard to come by today with beach front vacation homes. Perfect for a smaller group or family, the amazing views of the St. Helena Sound are worth the trip alone. If relaxation is on the top of your vacation agenda, the second story screened porch is fit for basking in the sweet breeze during a rain storm or afternoon hiatus from the sun. The cottage has one bedroom on the main level, great for those that find numerous steps challenging. The cozy living makes for a wonderful meeting area to laugh and remember stories of vacations past. Davis is available for you to pause and enjoy all Edisto has to offer. No Pets. No Smoking.

Bedding Configuration: 4 Twin, 2 Sleeper Sofa, 1 Full

Additional Features:
* Business: Nearby ATM, Nearby Bank, Nearby Internet Cafe, Nearby Marina, Nearby Post Office, Nearby Restaurants
* Convenience: Golf Course, Nearby Golf Cart Rentals, Nearby Grocery, Nearby Medical Services
* Culture: Botany Bay Plantation, Edisto Interpretive Center, Edisto Island Historical Museum, Edisto Island Serpentarium
* Entertainment: Cable TV
* Geographic: Beach Front, Close to Town, Ocean View, On the St. Helena Sound
* Kitchen: Coffee Maker, Cookware, Dishwasher, Full Kitchen, Microwave, Refrigerator, Toaster
* Living: Ceiling Fans, Central Heat & Air, Land Line Telephone, Linens Not Provided, Washer & Dryer, Wireless Internet Access, 2 Night Minimum In Off Season, No Smoking
* Outdoor: BBQ Grill, Hot & Cold Outside Shower, Screened Porch
 
 
 
 
 
 
Map

This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
 
 
 
 
 
 
Availability

Owner/Manager last updated on 08/31/2014

 available     unavailable View next 12 months »»
  September   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
  October   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
  November   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30            
  December   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      
  January   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
  February   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
  March   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
  April   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30    
  May   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  June   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
  July   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
  August   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31          
 available     unavailable View next 12 months »»

 
 
 
 
 
 
Rates
Start End Nightly Weekly Monthly Min. Stay
Deposits: For details please check rates and availability.
Cancellation Policy: For details please check rates and availability.
Lodging Tax: For details please check rates and availability.
Other Fees: For details please check rates and availability.
Other Policies: For details please check rates and availability.
 
 
 
 
 
 
Amenities
Location Type: Beach Front, Ocean View
Amenities
  • ·Full Kitchen
Appliances
  • ·Coffee Maker
  • ·Dishwasher
  • ·Microwave
  • ·Phone
  • ·Refrigerator
  • ·Toaster
  • ·Satellite TV or Cable TV
Activites
  • ·Golf
 
 
 
 
 
 
Reviews
 Property Reviews 
Loved Edisto...house could use some work...
Megan D. from Phornton, CO recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2014
I stayed at the Davis house on Edisto Island with my family and fell in love with the beach and island. It was great to have the house so close to the beach and we loves the screened in porch. My only complaint is that the house was not very organized. We had to empty things out of closets to unpack our suit cases and couldn't use the closer in the main bedroom due to it being full of 3 ironing boards and 2 peg boards. The kitchen pantry was also dirty (a used pot with dried on food was crammed in with random things). If you are looking for an affordable place to stay and are ok with dated decor and some clutter this rental would be great. Plus, the island is amazing and made up for the things the house lacked.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Megan,
We have just received your review. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you family has fallen in love with our little slice of heaven, and that you all enjoyed the convenience and views offered at Davis house on Edisto Beach. We will address the additional items in some of the closets with cooperation from the home owner. The home owners have some updates planned for the off season and we will certainly share your thoughts with them. We would love to be your host on Edisto anytime. We are always a phone call away!
Regards,
Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

small rustic home
A guest from Leichester, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2014
This home was an older home. Downstairs was more updated than the upstairs.the main bathroom was the only problem that we encountered (which os upstairs) It was a very very small space and needed some renovations badly! None of our bedroom televisions worked properly, but the downstairs tv was great. Overall a very nice time on the sound.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Angela,
We have just received your review. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with you feedback. We are so pleased that you group enjoyed your time on the St. Helena Sound at Davis house. The owner has some update planned for the off season, and bathrooms are on the top of the list. We would love to be your host on Edisto anytime. We are always a phone call away!
Regards,
Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Affordable Vacation
A guest from West Columbia, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2014
It was awesome to have an affordable option that was ocean front. The house is small, but we spent a lot of time on the porch. The bathroom is awkward. The kitchen is well stocked with kitchen tools. The dryer lint trap was broken and has been for some time. It was a fire hazard with all the lint trapped behind it; but I reported it so that will probably get fixed. The porch was pretty dirty. It was also nice to be able to sit inside and see the ocean when there wasn't any breeze.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Adam,
We have just received your review. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are thrilled that your group enjoyed the convenience and relaxation offered at Davis on Edisto Beach. Since your stay, the home owners have completed a list of maintenance items including the dryer and cleaning the porch. We would love to be your host on Edisto anytime! We are always a phone call away.
Regards,
Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

4th of July Week
A guest from Beulaville, NC does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2014
We've rented the 'Cracker Box' several times throughout the years. The house is charming. My children and now my grandchildren made a lot of memories. We will be back because of the history we have shared there.However; the home was not clean and looked as though it hasn't been clean in quite some time. The mattresses also need to be changed asap! We did not sleep well.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Cynthia,
We have just received your review. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are thrilled that you family continues to enjoy making vacation memories at Davis on Edisto Beach. We are disappointed to hear that the cleanliness and condition of some items in the home is lacking, and we are in the process of addressing issues for maintenance with the home owners. We would love to have you back anytime for a more enjoyable experience. We value your feedback, and we are always a phone call away!
Regards,
Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Island Retreat!
A guest from Madison, WI does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2014
We love visiting Edisto Island! This was our first experience staying @ Davis house. The first thing we noticed was the lack of storage in the entire place. All closets & cupboards were completely filled with years worthy of stuff. It was apparent that the cleaning crew didn't move anything when cleaning. Davis house definitely showed its years. When we called the management company to let them know the toilet was leaking, the dishwasher malfunctioned, our grill was nonfunctional, the blinds didn't work & the boardwalk to the beach had nails sticking out or broken off which was really dangerous, they sent out staff immediately to do their best to fix things. We appreciated their efforts. We have stayed in far nicer places. The layout of the house was rather odd. You had to go outside or through a bedroom to get to the second floor deck. The best feature of the place! Our ocean view & time together was magical!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Katie,
We have just received your review. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are thrilled that your group loves Edisto as much as we do, and that you enjoyed the views and time together at Davis on Edisto Beach! We are disappointed that you found the condition of some of the aspects of this older home to be lacking. We really strive to offer great homes with excellent service, and appreciate your kind comments regarding are response to the issues that you listed. We will be addressing items for maintenance with cooperation from the home owner. We would love to be your host on Edisto anytime!
Regards,
Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

ONLY PROBLEM: UPSTAIRS BATHROOM
Pam M. from McConnells, SC does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in May, 2014
Very clean house. Loved location. However, I would not stay there again until upstairs bathroom is remodeled.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Pam,
We have just received your review. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are thrilled that Davis on Edisto Beach was clean and convenient during your stay. We will address the need for updates to the upstairs bathroom with cooperation from the home owner. We would love to host your next getaway to Edisto. We are always a phone call away!
Regards,
Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Davis, May 2014
A guest from Chicago, IL recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in May, 2014
My daughter, Jennifer and I have enjoyed renting from Atwood for 15 years. 13 of those years at Davis. I have always filled out the written review and hopefully, again this year, my suggestions have been noted. I know it's hard with rental property to keep it tip top, but there are several things that need to be attended to.Nonetheless, we had a great time and hope to continue renting Davis. It is certainly unique. Location great. Living room furniture now quite comfy.Thanks for being at Edisto for us.Pat Kovar and Jennifer Dockery

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Pat,
We have just received your review. We are so happy to be a part of your family tradition here on Edisto. We note all written and web based reviews in order to continue to improve our homes and services. We appreciate your feedback! Since your stay at Davis on Edisto Beach we have had screens and screen door repaired as well as brand new twin mattresses installed in the upstairs bedroom. We will continue to complete updates and additions with cooperation from the home owner. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Regards,
Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Davis House
Gregory J. from Bethlehem, CT does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 7 days in April, 2014
Bathrooms very small.View is wonderful.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Gregory,
We have just received your review. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the wonderful view from Davis on Edisto Beach. We hope with an overall satisfaction score being only 1 point below perfect that you would recommend this home to others. We would love to be your host on Edisto anytime!
Regards,
Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Davis 33B
A guest from Savannah, GA recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in April, 2014
Since we're related to the owners, the check in staff accomodated our very early arrival. Got to meet the Inspector, he was very courteous and knowlegeable. I left my luggage in one of the rooms, Atwood promptly contacted us and I was able to return before I got all the way home, and found my things in excellent condition. I did note to the desk on Check-out that I didn't clean as thoroughly as I would have liked to have, but when I picked up my suitcase I met the cleaning staff and thanked them for their help, they specifically said "It wasn't bad at all" which made my second trip home much nicer. Because of the early checkin, the missed suitcase etc. I was on the phone with the office staff a lot and they were so nice and helpful. Really enjoyed renting with Atwood!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Robin,
Thank you so much for sharing your review with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Davis on Edisto Beach. We strive to provide the best service possible, and are so happy to hear about your positive experiences with our staff. We'd love to be your host for your next getaway to Edisto Beach. See you soon!
Regards,
Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

It is What It Is...
A guest from Tuckasegee, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in April, 2014
Davis House has soooo much potential but it needs a good renovation. It WAS clean, and the living room furniture very comfy. Kitchen was nicely appointed with almost anything you could've needed! The bathrooms are itty bitty and the only shower on the second floor. We knew that going in and it worked for our small family. Would not work well for 'larger' individuals. The half bath downstairs could potentially be renovated and made larger if owners could put a little money into the house. Unfortunately it was too cold to enjoy the large screened porch! As far as location, it doesn't get any better than this!! We had no issues with roaches or Palmetto bugs whichever you want to call them, but we made sure that everything was wiped and cleaned up before we went to bed... it was chilly too, don't know if that had anything to do with them either... All in all, it was a good time!If you are expecting Ritz-Carlton, this house may not be for you. If you need affordable, comfy, and beach front- this is the one!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Meg,
Thank you so much for sharing your review with us. We are so pleased that you were comfortable during your stay at Davis house. We strive to offer great homes with excellent service. We will look into completing some additional updates with cooperation for the home owner. We'd love to be your host for your next relaxing stay on Edisto Beach. See you soon.
Regards,
Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Fixer Upper in a great location
Heather S. from Upper Arlington, OH does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 5 days in April, 2014
Davis was in a wonderful location. We walked down a short plank right onto the beach. The view from the picture window in the living room was divine.The house has been in the Davis family for 5 generations. We are guessing it was built in the 50's. While renovations have been done over the years, the house is old and may not appeal to someone who likes everything new and clean.The bathrooms are not pictured on the website. That's because they would deter people from booking Davis house. They are really old and in need of repair.I am 5'3". I could not reach the bottom shelf of the kitchen cabinets. The Davis family should furnish a stool for the kitchen. I had to stand on the breakfast table stool to get a glass or bowl. The upstairs porch is nice, but the hammock needs to be replaced. If you sit in it, you will fold like a taco. You can also get into the second bedroom from the porch without a key. My 12 year old daughter was freaked out about that.If you have never been to Edisto Beach, it is a secluded area. There are no fast food restaurants and only three restaurants and a grocery store. It's a great place to get away and relax. At one point, we looked up and down the beach and realized we were the only people on the beach. Very nice.We loved playing games and detoxing from technology in the evenings. There is a tv in Davis, but the reception was fuzzy and we were fine with that. We drove to Charleston for a day, but spent the rest of our time relaxing on the beach and enjoying the sunshine. We enjoyed our time at Edisto, but would have liked to have stayed in a house that was a little more fixed up. We live in an old house, so we appreciate old, but we don't care for old kitchen cabinets and broken mirrors in the bathroom and holes in the bathroom wall where the toilet paper roll used to hang.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Family Getaway
A guest from North Charleston, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in March, 2014
Quick trip and the kids loved it.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Liz,
Thank you so much for your review. We value your feedback and really appreciate that you chose to spend your quick weekend trip at Davis on Edisto Beach. We'd love to have you back anytime for another memorable family getaway.
Regards,
Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

davis house
A guest from Lafayette, GA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in December, 2013
great

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Mike,
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your business throught the years. We are so pleased that you had another great getaway to Edisto. We look forward to seeing you and your family again!
Regards,
Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great time!
A guest from Greenwood, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in November, 2013
The house was very nice and fit our family well. Would stay again.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Brad,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you sharing your experience with us. We'd love to invite you back again for another wonderful getaway to Edisto Beach.
Regards,
Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Not for the Timid
A guest from Little Mountain, SC does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 7 days in November, 2013
High kitchen cabinets difficult to access (provide a step-stool?). Steep, narrow, dark interior stairs dangerous. Location great! Screen porch a plus. Never had direct contact with any of the Atwood people (their website worked well for reservation though), so unable to comment on their professionality .

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Ned,
Thank you for your feedback. We value your review. We appreciate your candor. Our goal is for every guest to have a wonderful, carefree vacation. Your suggestions have been shared with our management staff to try to make the next guest's stay a better one. We hope that you will consider using Atwood for your next vacation on Edisto.
Regards,
Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

September Seclusion
A guest from Little Mountain, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in September, 2013
A quaint, charming home in a good location on the sound. Untold beauty at the backdoor with short walk to beach and seashells galore. The upstairs porch was amazing especially for sunsets. Because of the stairs, I probably wouldn't recommend for certain age groups; also the only inside tub/shower was upstairs, small and difficult to maneuver. The outside shower had hot & cold water and was great.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Brenda,
Thank you for your review. We value your feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit at Davis. While this home is older, it does have some charm. It is so nice to learn that you had a quality Edisto experience. We would love to invite you back anytime.
Regards,
Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Bugs on the Beach
A guest from Anderson, SC does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in September, 2013
The location was great. A reasonably priced house right on the beach. However, the house had a roach infestation (5-10 in the kitchen daily). Management was very prompted in sending someone out to deal with the issue. However, there were still daily sights and squashings. From a non-bug perspective it was a very cozy stay. The screened in porch was quite pleasant and it had enough space for a comfortable vacation on a budget. I would recommend checking the weather, specifically wind direction, before the trip. Apparently when the wind blows out from the dunes it brings along man eating flies along the beach, thus no relaxing on the beach without constant movement and swatting.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Barry,
Thank you for your review. We take all of the feedback to heart in order to improve everyone's experience. We apologize that you had a less than five star stay. All of our homes including Davis have professional quarterly pest control services. We can also make calls as needed. Your case has been documented. We have pest control visiting weekly to ensure that the problem is taken care of. We understand that this could but a damper on your getaway. We do appreciate you offering your suggestions. Our goal is for everyone to have a carefree vacation. We hope that you will consider visiting an Atwood Vacations' home for your next visit to Edisto.
Regards,
Atwood Vacations TEam
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Quiet, relaxing and affordable
A guest from Kirkwood, MO recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in September, 2013
What is said in the comments is true. It's not the cleanest property on the strip and bugs are certainly present, especially in the kitchen. But, because of the previous reviews and comments we knew this going into the stay and were actually pleased with the condition which was better than we expected. For two newly weds looking to spend a quiet honeymoon on the beach at an affordable price, this house and Edisto Island were perfect. We woke up every morning to dolphins playing in the water outside the house! Overall, it was a pleasant stay and we'd do it again.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Nicole,
Thank you for your review. We value your feedback. Congratulations on your marriage! We hope that you made many memories during your honeymoon. We'd love to invite you back for more excellent visits.
Regards,
Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Davis house
A guest from West Columbia, SC does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in September, 2013
The kitchen was infested with **** roaches, especially in the stove and dishwasher. We called and an exterminator came out and sprayed, but it didn't help during our stay. The mattress pad on one bed appeared to be soiled with urine, which they brought a new one over. The house was not what I would consider clean. I feel as though the cleaning service should have seen the soiled pad and also all the **** roaches crawling on the counter. We had an 11 month old, so we were very disappointed with the condition of the house. The outside door in the downstairs bedroom needs replaced. I could see daylight through the crack in it. I think this house is way over priced for the condition of it. The full bath is so small you can hardly turn around!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Rita,
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you sharing your review. We are so disappointed to hear about your experience. All of our rentals are sprayed quarterly and as needed. We can understand that this interfered with your enjoyment. We work hard to ensure that you arrive to a great rental. We are always just a phone call away. Your review has been shared with our housekeeping staff for better understanding of our policies. Again, we thank you for staying with us.
Regards,
Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Beach is great no matter where you stay.
David S. from Walterboro, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2013
We come back every year for our wedding anniversary. Our only mistake was that we did not get a bigger house.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
David,
Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you and your family year after year. We appreciate that Edisto holds a special place in your hearts. We hope to see you again next year for a great 4th on Edisto.
Regards,
Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Love Edisto More and More each Year
Patricia K. from Chicago, IL recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in May, 2013
Perfect. Same house, Davis, for a number of years. Love the Sound. New floor, some new lighting and other improvements were most welcome. Keep up the good work on this charming little house. We needed immediate attention to our air conditioning and Atwood sent folks before we even finished unpacking.Couldn't have been a better time.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Patricia,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your business throughout the years. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the updates this year. We look forward to seeing you next spring for a beautiful stay on Edisto.
Regards,
Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Davis House Week of 3/30/13
Shayne K. from Canton, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in March, 2013
We enjoyed our weeks stay at the Davis House. The home is small and old, but fit our needs. If I'm being critical, the home could use some updating and general maintenance, but overall, there is nothing wrong with the home. The location is perfect. I prefer the sound side of the island because the beach is much more pleasant than the ocean side of the island. This is the second year in a row that we have used Atwood Vacations for a home rental on Edisto Beach and would recommend them to anyone. Check-in/check-out is a breeze and the homes have been just as depicted on the website.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Shayne,Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. We would love to be your host again next year!Regards,Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Davis review
Douglas J. from Colorado Springs, CO recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in March, 2013
We had an absolute blast on the island. I still dont understand why guest bring linens and towels? East coast thing? I also loved the old beach house feel of the Davis property. Some of the cookware had cooked on food so we had to clean things before we got started. There was a lot of mold in the coffee maker. I think the "Palmetto" bugs just come with the region but we kept the house clean so we didnt see them to much. Overall we had a great time and thank you for being so professional.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Douglas,Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay on Edisto. We are exploring options to add linens to every rental home. The largest problen with furnishing linens is adding the infrastructure to launder linens in mass quanity. We will replace the coffee maker. We apologize for that. Our goal is for you to have an amazing vacation. We would love to see you again.Regards,Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Lovely location
A guest from Evans, GA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in March, 2013
A cute property, but very tiny. Hard to turn around in the bathroom. Some of the lights didn't work in the kitchen. We tried changing the bulbs, so it must be the fixtures. There is only one queen bed, so 2 of 3 adults slept on a twin mattress. I knew this going into the property and had misgivings about it which were backed up by reality. There were only 3 of us so it was perfect for the number booked. The upper porch furniture completely covered in a thick layer of pollen and unable to use during our stay due to allergies. You are right on the beach, however, on the lovely St Helena Sound. Saw dolphins several evenings. The sunsets were absolutely gorgeous and soothing to the soul to see. Perfect driving distance from Charleston where we went one day to go shopping and on a tour. All in all, it was a trade off for amenities for a good price on the beach. I think a small group like ours could be happy there.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Vanessa,Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you staying with us at Davis on Edisto Beach. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We will look into the issues with the light fixtures. Next time I hope the pollen count will be lower so that the outdoors are more comfortable for us allergy sufferers! We would love to have you back!Regards,Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Davis
A guest from Columbia, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in December, 2012
We liked the house for the money. The bathroom was a bit too small for the amount of bedrooms. It was hard to stand and turn around in there.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Davis at Edisto -- good value in a perfect location
A guest from Comer, GA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in October, 2012
This is an older (which I prefer), very well kept up house in a perfect location directly on the sound. I've stayed here several times over the years and would do so again. Had a minor issue with the house this time which Atwood handled totally to my satisfaction.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Dorie,Thank you for your review of "Davis." We appreciate that you have chosen to stay with Atwood through the years. Davis is a home for those looking to catch a bit of R&R! We would love to have you stay with us again.Regards,Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

sand on the stairs when we got there, rat poop in kitchen/drawers
lisa g. from inman, SC does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in August, 2012
I LOVE edisto and understand some "glitches" with properties..we've rented there for 7-8 years...i lov e an old beach house, much more so than anything really fancy, but the rat poop in the dishrag drawer was a bit much..just needs a little attention
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great time
A guest from Walterboro, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2012
Fabulous week

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Janice,Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your visit to "Davis" on Edisto Beach. This home is has a location that is heavenly. We would love to have you back for another great week on Edisto.Regards,Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Beautiful Sunsets
Janet E. from Guilford, IN recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in May, 2012
Fun week at the beach.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

on beach
A guest from Lafayette, GA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in December, 2011
great
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

June 2011 Edisto Beach Vacation
A guest from Tega Cay, SC does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2011
We loved Edisto and being able to walk out to the beach was great. Very quiet area. House was the right size for a family of four. However the full bathroom was very small plus the screened deck had a dirty floor and the deck furniture had seen better days.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great vacation home
Mary H. from edgemoore, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in April, 2011
Great vacation home, old with alot of history to read about inside! House is in very good condition and was the in the best location!! We will return again next year!!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Dear Mary,Thank you for providing us with the great feedback about your visit to Davis. We value your time in providing us this review. We welcome you back to Edisto Beach anytime!Regards,Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Simply perfect
A guest from Cincinnati, OH recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in March, 2011
It is a great space for a family get away. Fabulous view and beach out your back door. Comfortable
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Tables on screened porch had spillages.Tall glass table in LR was gritty on top, like hadn't been wiped off in a while. Both bat
A guest from Spartanburg, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in November, 2010
I have a suggestion for all of your properties. Require people to leave a roll of TP in each bathroom and a roll of PT in the kitchen. Those are the first things usually needed so might make arrival easier. They would be easy to replace before you leave.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Dear Launa,Thank you for your review of Davis. We appreciate you staying with Atwood again! Your feedback is vital to our improvement. Your comments have been forwarded to the housekeeping department for their review. We are currently working on a pakage for guests that allows for an upgraded linen package with toilet paper, etc. Keep in touch! Thanks again for your support. We invite you back anytime!Regards,Atwood Vacations
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great location - Not a great house
A guest from Walterboro, SC does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2010
We love Edisto and visit every year. This was the first time we decided to stay by ourselves (just me, my husband and two kids) so we decided to spend a little less, but still stay on the sound where the waves are much calmer. When we arrived, it was evident that the property had not been recently cleaned - there were dead bugs all around. I did call to notify Atwood, and they were very apologetic. The house itself was just very small, the living room furniture was outdoor type furniture and not comfortable at all. The one bathroom that had a shower was so small that I couldn't bathe my kids in the tub. They had to take an outside shower each day on the deck. My husband and I also had a very hard time getting in and out of the shower due to the small space and hard to manage glass doors. The sink/vanity was the smallest I've ever seen. The washer and dryer was running constantly because I was only able to load maybe 5 items in at a time....tiny!On a good note, the location was perfect and the beach was fantastic! The kitchen, although small, was clean. The bed was comfy and the porch was nice. Overall, I would not recommend this house to anyone to stay in for a week. I think the owners would have repeat visitors if they invested in some decent furniture in the living area and did some minor repairs/maintenance in the one functional bathroom/shower. I will always go back to Edisto...just not to this house!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Thank you for your feedback. We hope you had a great vacation despite the problems in the Davis house. We hope to make up your experience next time in a different unit.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Leavenworth, WA does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in March, 2010
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great View
Lynda B. from South Charleston, WV does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2009
At this price point I would expect a clean well maintaned property. It was not!!! Our first night the toilet overflowed. What a mess! No bucket or mop to clean up with. The screen doers were falling apart and one door would not open, a clear safety hazard. The tread on the narrow stairs was loose and another hazard. There were many neglected items: the kitchen cabinets were dirty, one had it bottom missing, the floors were filty and also,the area rug stained and dirty. There wasn't a hose to clean the porch and deck. The kitchen counter top had a large crack next to the range top. The frig leaked water inside which had to be cleaned each day. Perhaps, the greatest joke of this rental was the fact that when you opened the closet door in the master bedroom there was NO closet at all. Lastly, there was a broken metal shelf in the half bath that stuck out from the wall and was another safty problem. The fact that this rental was small, and old was not the problem here. The problem is the misrepresentation both online and by the realty company that this was worth what we paid. I left a letter with the company and seriously thought of contacting the local chamber of commerence about they way we were ripped off.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great location on the sound - was glad only immediate family was there. It was awkward to go through bed rooms to get to porch.
A guest from Westfield, IN recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2009
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

 
 
 
 
 
 
Check Rates and Book Online
 (how?)
Select your travel dates and number of guests, then click Check Rates & Book it. We will confirm availability and provide a final rate quote. You will have the option to book this property online.
Arrival Departure Adults (18+) Child (<18)

 
 
 
 
 
 
Email Inquiry
Please complete all the required fields before submitting your inquiry. The property lister, property manager or owner will contact you directly after receiving your inquiry.

Your email address is requested twice to avoid typing errors.

Information in Red is required.

First Name:
Last Name:
Email:
Email (verify):
Home Phone:
Work Phone:
Mobile Phone:
Desired Arrival Date:
Desired Departure Date:
Number of Adults (18+):
Number Children (<18):
Additional Message:
(limit of 250 characters)
Verification Letters:
Please enter the verification letters from the image above.
Please email me a copy of this inquiry for reference.
Please save my inquiry information until I leave this site so I will not have to enter it again.
Please include me on periodic email newsletters & special offers. Always short and sweet, always deals.

Privacy Statement

By completing and submitting the information on this form you are agreeing to share this information with the property lister, property manager and owner and to the storage of this information for use by the property lister, property manager and owner.

See our privacy policy for more information.